TEN UNCOMMONLY USED FILIPINO WORDS WITH MEANINGS AND EXAMPLES

​1. Napagtanto – “to realize something” in English, meaning to understand and become aware of a certain situation or idea ).

Sentence Example:

“Napagtanto kong mali ang aking naging desisyon, sa pagkakataong ito’y patawarin mo sana ako.”

2.Alimusom – “scent” in English, meaning a pleasant smell that is produced by something (“amoy” is mostly use than alimusom.)

Sentence Example:
“Tila isang hardin na puno ng kaakit-akit at napakabangong bulaklak ang alimusom ng kanyang buhok.”

3.Tampalasan – “traitor” in English, means a person who betrays a group of people or a friend by means of helping or supporting an enemy (but now, we mostly use “traydor” or “manloloko” than the word tampalasan.)

Sentence Example:
“Isa kang tampalasan! Huwag ka nang magpapakita sakin kahit kailan! Hindi kita tunay na kaibigan.”

4.Dulay – “to climb” in English, meaning to involve yourself in a way of going up or down, “akyat” is the word that is usually used to describe this verb.

Sentence Example:
“Sila ang grupo ng mga kabataan na nag-dulay sa isa sa pinakamataas na bundok sa ating lugar.”

5.Durungawan – “window” in English, but Filipinos mostly use the word “bintana”

Sentence Example:
“Tiningnan ko nang ilang beses ang aming durungawan kagabi, ngunit ni isang bituin ay wala man lang akong nakita.”

6.Kalupi – a “wallet” in English, but Filipinos mostly use the word “pitaka”.

Sentence Example:
“Naiwala ko kaninang umaga ang aking kalupi, kaya’t imposibleng mahanap ko pa iyon sa mga oras na ito.”

7.Arok – means to “understand” to know the meaning of something such as words that someone is saying or a language.

Sentence Example:
“Hindi ko maarok ang nais mong ipahiwatig, kailangan ko ng mas maayos na pagpapaliwanag.”

8.Alumpihit – the word is usually related with the feeling of being bothered. Like when you’re worried about something or when you feel pain and doesn’t know what to do. Now, we usually use “hindi mapakali” instead of alumpihit.

Sentence Example:
“Ano ba ‘yan? Nasaan na kaya siya sa mga panahong ito? Sapagkat alumpihit ang aking kalooban.”

9.Salipawpaw – “airplane” in English, a machine that has wings and an engine and that flies through the air (now it’s just “eroplano”)

Sentence Example:
“Tuwang-tuwa ang anak ni Aling Marta ng makakita ng salipapaw.”

10.Hapnayan – It is the Tagalog/Filipino word for “Biology”. It is a branch of science that deals with the study of life, living organisms and vital processes.

Sentence Example:
“Kinabukasan na isasagawa ang talakayan tungkol sa Hapnayan.”

 

 

 Notify me of new comments via email.

Leave a comment